MARK CLATTENBURG: How Manchester United weren’t awarded a penalty for Callum Hudson-Odoi’s CLEAR handball is a mystery
- Manchester United and Chelsea played-out a goalless bore-draw on Sunday
- The Old Trafford side were adamant they should have had a first-half penalty
- The ball appeared to touch Callum Hudson-Odoi’s hand inside the box
- Referee Stuart Attwell reviewed the scene on the monitor but ignored VAR
- I’m baffled as to how the referee did not award Man United with a penalty
Manchester United were feeling hard-done-by after Sunday’s 0-0 draw with Chelsea, after Callum Hudson-Odoi’s handball inside the box went unpunished.
The Blues winger challenged for a loose ball with Mason Greenwood and the ball bounced up to touch the youngster’s hand. Referee Stuart Attwell was called to the monitor and VAR recommended he award a spot-kick.
Attwell stuck with his gut and Hudson-Odoi went unpunished, infuriating Ole Gunanr Solskjaer and leaving Sportsmail columnist Mark Clattenburg baffled…
Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi appeared to commit a handball against Man United
The game ended 0-0 and Manchester United were adamant they should have had a penalty
I am amazed Manchester United were not awarded a penalty in the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi.
The Chelsea player’s arm was up in an unnatural position and the ball hit his hand.
VAR Chris Kavanagh thought referee Stuart Attwell had missed a clear penalty so he gave him the opportunity to review it at his pitch-side monitor.
How Attwell did not then point to the spot, having been shown the same angles that we were, is a mystery.
Stuart Attwell reviewed his decision at the monitor but chose to ignore VAR’s recommendation